Finding the Right Way to Say “I Do”

Standard

As many of you know, I’m positively obsessed with wedding blogs lately. Twitter (and my new love TweetDeck) don’t help matters, giving me to-the-second access to the latest and greatest on all of my favorite blogs. If you like reading this at all, I highly suggest you check out The Knotty Bride and Broke-Ass Bride, both are extremely entertaining reads by eloquent bloggers…and TKB features an adorable French Bulldog puppy in more posts than not lately. Not that I’m complaining. You all know how obsessed I am with puppies.

Anyway, the reason I bring up these blogs again is because I ran across this gem on Wedding Chicks today, and I must admit, I’m smitten. I had never really thought of writing our own vows as an option for the wedding, until that post. And now I’m stuck. Here’s why.

Like I’ve said before, I’m a communicator. Aside from being a journalism and philosophy major during undergrad, and aside from starting law school next fall, I’ve often told people that my “dream job” is to be a New York Time’s bestselling novelist. I like to tell stories. I like to talk. I like to express myself through words. Shaun is quite different. He’s more reserved, a true Northeast Wisconsin farmer who likes to keep to himself. He recently told me that his solution to awkward social situations was to “just smile” and hope he wouldn’t have to talk too much. It was endearing, especially because he implied during that conversation that when we’re out together, I can just take care of his social awkwardness by starting a conversation for us.

I don’t want to put Shaun in a tough spot by asking him to write his vows, especially when I know how difficult it will potentially be for even me, a writer, to do so. But there’s something about a personalized, from-the-heart promise of everlasting love that’s just so darn…well…romantic. We’ll still have a traditional ring ceremony either way, so my guess is this will come down to whether Shaun will ever feel comfortable writing, and eventually saying, his own vows in front of our friends and family.

I’d love to know if anyone out there had this struggle with their own wedding…I can’t remember ever being to a wedding where the bride and groom wrote their own vows. We see it in the movies and on TV all the time, but there’s also something about the comfort of the traditional “I Do” that seems to act as a safety net on an already nerve-wracking and emotion-filled day.

On a final note, I know I haven’t written a lot lately. Part of that is because of the end of school, the rest can be attributed to the fact that I’ve gotten to a point where I’m not sure what I should (or can) say on this blog anymore. I don’t want to ruin too many of the wedding detail surprises as we brainstorm ideas, but I also want to keep you all in the loop and involved. And I know that lately it’s been a lot of my philosophy on love and life and marriage, which can be quite boring, I realize. So I’d love to know if anyone actually reads this and what you’d like me to write about in the future.

And a last update, my mom and I set a date after graduation to go dress shopping! Maybe it will be the final time. And maybe I’ll have a couple of pictures to share with you all…even if I don’t tell you which one we buy. So stay tuned for that fun stuff.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Getting Some Perspective « Wedding in the 920

Leave a Reply

