I am a Communicator

Standard

I set up this blog because I am a communicator. It’s what I do. I’m majoring in journalism and mass communication as an undergrad at the UW. And as Shaun and I get closer to our wedding, I want to share in the experience of wedding planning and this exciting time with all of your, our friends and family. Given my background in communication, setting up a blog seemed like the perfect way to share our updates with you all.

The point of this blog is not to ruin the “surprise” of the wedding day. I’ve been posting several pictures lately (dresses, venues, and other ideas that I have), but as we get closer, more and more of what we choose will be at least partially kept secret to keep the day special for everyone that is invited. When I choose a dress, I will probably tell you all – but I won’t tell you what it will look like.

At this point, I’m posting pictures because I want the opinions of those people who matter most to me. Planning a wedding at home is not easy, especially when I’m living in Madison and will be starting law school next year. By posting pictures and specific vendors and asking for suggestions, I hoped to (and am getting!) feedback from people who have either had or planned weddings before. This is actually how we found our photographer (the fabulous Tricia DeWar).

Social media is something that is very important to me. I have seen the power that it has to change lives and change the way people think. I know that something as silly as a wedding blog is probably not going to change either of those things, but I wanted to be clear about its purpose. It is not to give away all of the surprises before that day, but a way for me to have fun with the planning process and to keep track of everything as it happens. I hope you all enjoy reading as much as I do writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

