My Biggest Fear

Standard

As we move forward in the planning process and more and more things start to fall into place, one large task is still looming in front of me. It terrifies me more than all of the others. Everyone keeps asking me when I’m going to finally do it. They all sound so excited, but every time my heart sinks a little bit. Yes, I’m talking about dress shopping.

Don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait to find my perfect dress and wear it down the aisle to marry the man I love more than anyone in the world. It’s the shopping that I’m afraid of. Let me explain. I am by no means a small girl. And after reading reviews of local bridal salons online, I’m more self conscious about my size than ever. Horror stories of consultants who tell a girl to leave and not come back until her hips are a certain size, teeny tiny bridal samples and the all important question “will I be able to look the way I want to with this body?” fill my head day and night. Literally. I’ve had nightmares about this.

I have ideas of my perfect dress, but I know that I won’t be able to really tell until I start trying them on. That being said, I don’t want to look frumpy on my wedding day because I’m plus-sized. I don’t think I should have to. My curves are beautiful and I want the world (not to mention my fiance!) to see them. I’m just worried that not all bridal consultants will be so kind to my body come time to shop.

As of right now, I have 3 criteria for my “dream dress”: it has to be a-line, have lace, and not be strapless. Ideally, I would love for it to have all three of these things, but I’d be willing to compromise on any of them if the right dress came along. I want to look classic and elegant. Some ideas I’ve had:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think? Any suggestions for bridal salons that are friendly for plus-sized girls that I should try?

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

Leave a Reply

