Our Struggle to Set the Date

Standard

As I said on the blog yesterday, we finally set our wedding date for July 7, 2012. But getting to that point wasn’t easy. In fact, there might have been a lot of tears on my part a few weeks ago when we were trying to decide what date to choose for our wedding, but now that it’s all said and done, it seems right.

Since I’ll be starting law school next fall, Shaun and I were torn about whether to get married during law school or to wait until after I get my J.D. Well…I was torn. Shaun’s opinion seemed to be, “do whatever you want, but I’d rather get married sooner.” On the one hand, planning a wedding during my first year of law school did (does?) not sound appealing, but waiting another 4 years seemed too long.

When we started looking at what dates are Saturdays in 2013 and 2014, I noticed that 7/7 falls on a Saturday in 2012. Initially, 2012 was much sooner than I was ready to get married – ever since Shaun and I started talking about the possibility of marriage, I had planned on having a long engagement. But anyone who knows me knows my obsession with the number 7 (my lucky number and also the Mellophone rank number in the UW Marching Band), so it seemed perfect. Soon, but perfect.

After a few weeks of going back and forth between 2012 and 2014 and getting some strange looks when people asked what dates I was considering, we finally decided that it just makes sense to Shaun and I to get married sooner. Now that it’s finally official, we’re working on booking our reception hall (which we’ve already chosen and confirmed is available) and our ceremony site (which we haven’t).

The best part is that all of the stress I felt a few weeks ago about this particular issue is gone now. Shaun is happy too and we know that we will be married in just over a year and half!

Leave a Reply

