DIY Workout Tops – My Mini-Reward

Standard

One goal that I made for myself at the end of the month was to start going to the gym regularly – for sure 3 days a week, but challenging myself to make it 4 (depending on just how hectic my schedule was with school). I’m proud to say that until this week, when classes ended and finals began, I achieved this goal!

Now, it didn’t make a big difference on the scale, but I’m trying not to let that discourage me. I’m also trying not to let finals get me too off-track (I’m looking at you, Diet Pepsi…). I keep telling myself that no matter what the scale says, any activity is better than no activity, and I should be proud of myself for making a goal for the month of April and sticking to it. These next 4(ish) weeks are going to be especially crazy with finals and the journal write-on, so I’m going to have to motivate myself even more to exercise 3 days a week. Your encouragement is welcome!

As a mini-reward to myself for reaching the goal, I decided to buy myself a new pair of workout pants and a new sports bra. Mine are all pretty shoddy from having gone through 4 seasons of marching band, and I figured that some cute clothes would give me a little extra boost to keep going to the gym. One thing that I couldn’t justify, though, was buying workout shirts. They’re a lot of money, and they just never really seem to fit me right anyway. I did want to mix up my workout wardrobe a little, though, so I decided to repurpose a few of the (many) old t-shirts that I have laying around…into workout tank tops.

I was never one of those cool girls who just “knew” how to cut up an old t-shirt so that it would look cute. The girls in high school always did it, the girls in band always did it…whenever I tried, it looked like a 5 year old had gotten ahold of a pair of scissors when the babysitter wasn’t watching. But I found this tutorial via Pinterest, and I decided that I’d give it a try. The results were pretty good!

The photo from Pinterest that inspired me to undertake this project in the first place. FYI, I never got one to turn out quite this good…mine always bunched weird at the top so I modified it a little at the end. I’d still like to find a way to actually get one to turn out like this.

My t-shirt, before.

T-shirt, collar removed.

T-shirt, sleeves removed.

Widening the neck, adding a “v”

Making the arm-holes a little bigger. (Note: I think this is one of the points that I screwed up the most, because following the directions gave me way bigger arm holes than the sample photo. I’m not sure how to keep the sleeves the same size and still get the nice back pulled together like the photo, though…might have to get more shirts to experiment with.)

Finished tank-tops!

You can follow the full tutorial from the link above, but overall I’m pretty happy with how these turned out. Even though the arm holes are a little big for my liking and the backs are a little revealing, they work well with another regular tank top underneath (which is the only way I’d wear one of these out in public anyway). Not the most glamorous apparel, but good enough for the gym or doing work around the house!

About Kimberly H.

I'm a Wisconsin girl born and bred - a 2L at the University of Wisconsin Law School and a former member of the UW Marching Band. I married my best friend on 7/7/2012 and am an avid lover of nail polish, corgi pups and historical fiction novels!

One response »

Leave a Reply

